Oh how I miss Kindergarten! Sharing and Crayons and Recess and Nap Time! Naps should be allowed at work! I am serious on that. Someone start a petition.

Petitions remind me of politics and while I am not going to comment on who I believe is right or wrong on that I will say this: What the heck is wrong with people these days?

Seriously, when things like this  and this are happening I think that is a valid question. These are fully grown adults doing this.  And this. I know 4 year olds who behave better.

I think it is time for a time out. Send the adults back to kindergarten. They should know better. I know this isn’t everyone, if it were I think I would totally lose any hope for humanity. But we could all do with a refresher of what we were taught in kindergarten I think.

I was taught to share and share alike. Help others when they were hurt. Be kind to the people around you. Respect authority, even when you didn’t like it. Do the right thing. Speak up if something is wrong. Don’t steal. Don’t lie. If you don’t have anything nice to say don’t say anything at all. Respect other people around you. Use your inside voice. Play nice. Don’t hit or bite. Follow the rules. Basically be a decent person. That we are all like eggs – white, brown, blue or green we all are the same on the inside.

Is rioting on that list? No. Hating people? Nooo. Threatening people? Nope! Destroying other people’s property? No.

Wouldn’t the world be better if we just would start following kindergarten rules? I am tired of my Facebook and Twitter feeds blowing up with stories of people behaving so abysmally cruel to one another. I am tired of people hating one another. I am tired of the anger that is infecting our daily lives.

What I would love to see are more stories like this and this. More examples of when people join together simply because they are human beings. I want more people to treat others the way they want to be treated. I want more books like Unoffendable by Brant Hansen. I want more people to count to 10 or 50 or 1,000 when they are angry. I want more people to listen to each other without hating each other.

I think we need it.

Let’s go back to kindergarten. Let’s go back to kindness, respect, and decency. Let’s pause when we don’t have all the facts and our emotions are running high. Let’s remember to be nice.

This doesn’t mean let things that are not right go ignored. But there’s a right way and a wrong way to go about gaining justice. A way that doesn’t involve so much hatred.

“All I really need to know… I learned in kindergarten”
Robert Fulghum

But seriously, nap time was the best!

time-for-a-time-out-2

Leave a Reply

