Defeated.

That’s how I was feeling yesterday. Those of you that follow this blog know that I try to write at least a post a day, and I did not write at all yesterday. I’d lost my motivation and desire to write. I know, I know, the girl who writes about finding how to motivate yourself lost her motivation.

But this was a good thing.

My day was terrible, I found out that the car that I have is probably not replaceable so I need a new car. And that scares me. I know nothing about cars and I cannot afford a brand new one so I was freaking out about it all.

That’s when I decided to stay in bed watching Netflix,eating ice cream, and hiding from the world and my problems. And I was determined to do so.

Fortunately I have a friend who was more determined to get me out of the house and make me feel better. She wouldn’t allow me to sulk, at least not without her, and she wouldn’t allow me to stay abed and hide. She got me talking about everything while at Starbucks and that made me feel better and less depleted. She offered advice after letting me vent and genuinely cared about finding a solution to a problem that had very little impact on her own life. She took time out of her schedule to help me.

We all need friends like her. We need people who are not afraid to come drag us out of bed when we are being self-destructive. We need people who are willing to put the friendship at risk in order to tell us something we don’t want to hear when we need it. We need people who can let us vent and rant without interrupting or trying to fox the issue. We need people who will help us follow through with advice we have been given, who encourage us when we can only see the hopelessness in a situation.

A good friend is worth more than all the gold and jewels in the universe when things fall apart. They push us to become better because they see how amazing we can become. They see us at our worst and still love us. Even when we fail they can show us that one or two or ten fails don’t make us a failure. They can cheer us up when we have dug a hole and are stubbornly refusing to come out of it. They call out our best qualities and discourage the worst ones. They make us see our potential and we end up wanting to become who they see.

So today, thank the friends you have. Send a note, pay for dinner, make a phone call, send some flowers. Do something good for them for no other reason but your thankfulness. And be that good friend to another person. It can make all the difference in the world for them to have a person who will stick with them through thick and thin. Be a blessing to someone else today. Help take someone from defeated to hopeful. Take it from someone who has been through it, a good friend can change your whole day and more.

“True friendship multiplies the good in life and divides its evils. Strive to have friends, for life without friends is like life on a desert island… to find one real friend in a lifetime is good fortune; to keep him is a blessing.”

                                               – Baltasar Gracian

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

