One thing I have noticed about kids is they are not afraid of anything. I have seen them hanging off tree limbs, running up to stray cats and dogs, talking to strangers, climbing on stair railings, eating strange berries (I did stop that one), playing in the street, and doing many other things that would make an adult have a heart attack. Sometimes the things they do are actually dangerous, but most of the time the crazy brave things they enjoy are harmless with a just the potential for danger. And sometimes I wonder where we lost that crazy bravery.

When did we become afraid of our own shadows?

Why do we have dreams and discard them because something makes us sure they will fail? Why do we stay at the same job that offers no fulfillment or excitement instead of applying to a different one? Why do so many people with amazing talents hide them from the world? Why do people who love a subject and want to pursue it hesitate to enroll in a class?

Is it a fear of failure? Fear of rejection? Fear of instability? Fear of change? Fear of ridicule?

To those fears I ask what’s the worst that could happen? I could not succeed at something I wasn’t even attempting before. Okay, well, at least I learned something. People could say no to me or my idea? Again, I learned something. I go through a period where things are uncertain? Life is not certain so that’s nothing new. Things could be different? Isn’t that what I wanted? People could laugh at me? So what?

But let’s switch the question. What’s the best that could happen? I could succeed. I could find a career or hobby I love. I could make a difference. I could find out what I am on this Earth to do.

Imagine what you could do if you quit allowing fear to stop you. If you reached out for your dream and worked for it. If you put in the effort and succeeded. Imagine what life would be like with some crazy bravery added to it.

Maybe fearlessness is not only for the young. Maybe fear can be turned aside in the pursuit of a dream. Maybe without that fear success could be possible.

So be like a child, brave and bold in the pursuit of your dreams and goals. You might like what you find.

“Courage is contagious. When a brave man takes a stand, the spines of others are often stiffened.”
                                                                    –Billy Graham
roaring-lion
Remember, Sharing is Caring!
Leave a Reply

